A combined 100,000+ patents make up the modern automobile! It’s an incredible amount, particularly because the invention of the car took place only about 130 years ago. From safety inventions such as belts and airbags, to finer tuned mechanical systems, to sleeker and more efficient designs, these collective improvements leave the vehicles of today looking and operating very differently from their predecessors. Despite the vast amount of innovation, modern cars and trucks still cause significant accident and injury every year. In the state of Texas last year, there was an average of 28 crashes per day where a contributing factor to the accident was defective or disabled vehicle components.
Beyond the simple mechanics of the vehicle in question, there is also risk from the driver. Legal driving age in Texas is on the younger end of the spectrum compared to many United States regulations. Texas teens can gain their automobile learners permits at age 15. For other vehicles, the age is even younger, requiring 13 years of age to handle a boat, and astoundingly, there is an age limit of only 6 years to drive off-road vehicles such as golf carts and ATV’s. Adult supervision is required for these types of vehicles where the drivers are under 14, though this provision is seemingly low-priority to enforce. Fatal car crash rates for teenage drivers are 1.7 times higher than the rate for people aged 35-44, and inexperienced drivers of any age behind the wheel of powerful machinery are responsible for significant and serious accidents every year.
When these devastating accidents occur, you need an auto wreck lawyer to fiercely represent your best interests and fight for the justice you deserve! Negotiating with at-fault parties and insurance representatives can be a lengthy and daunting process. Contact 844-308-8180 Lion Law right away for a free case assessment.
Automobile Accidents in Mesquite
Every year, thousands of Texans are injured in automobile accidents, and the city of Mesquite suffers from these incidents as well. The average Mesquite resident has a 30.6 minute commute, meaning just one round trip required by their day is over an hour spent on the road. This statistic also means about 245 hours, or over 10 daysper year of drive time is dedicated to the trip to and from work alone.
Additionally, in 2018 Mesquite had a high number of DUI related accidents, occurring at a per capita rate 8% higher than for the state of Texas overall. DUI accidents can be particularly devastating, as the combination of impairment by drugs and alcohol with any other risk factors such as construction or bad weather can cause exponentially more disastrous results. Even without this type of impairment, thousands of accidents happen in Mesquite every year, resulting in fatalities and catastrophic injury that forever change the lives of the people involved.
Thompson Law’s team takes every injury and case seriously, carefully examining contributing factors and extenuating circumstances that impact your potential for compensation and the best possible outcome. Don’t hesitate to reach out and see how Lion Law can guide your claim to a rightful settlement.
Get medical treatment! Your health and safety are the most important thing, and your first priority should be seeking immediate attention from a hospital or doctor. Not sure that you’re injured or how serious your injury might be? You should still seek immediate medical attention if you are in a car accident, truck wreck or any other type of accident.
Getting immediate medical treatment does two things: First, it makes sure that any injuries you sustained are properly diagnosed and treated and second, it helps eliminate any doubt that your injuries were caused by the accident. Often, the shock and adrenaline of an accident can mask symptoms of injury, but making the mistake to skip getting checked out can have serious consequences. By seeking prompt medical treatment, you protect both your health and your ability to seek compensation for medical bills and time off work, with the help of your attorney.
Why Do I Need a Personal Injury Lawyer?Thompson Law2020-01-23T12:11:09-06:00
A competent and skilled personal injury lawyer is almost always necessary to get full and fair compensation for injuries you have sustained in an accident. Most defendants, whether individual drivers or commercial vehicle operators, are covered by liability insurance. Those insurance companies are not obligated to protect or take care of you. They are there to take care of the defendant (their customer) who caused your wreck or accident.
An expert personal injury attorney should be able to help you not only force that insurance company to pay for the injuries and damages the defendant caused, but will also do their best to make sure that you are compensated for every category of damages you may be entitled to, some of which you may not even be aware of: medical bills, future surgical costs, time off work in the past or time you may have to take off in the future, as well as the pain, suffering, and impairment that many injured people experience.
What Factors Affect My Claim’s Value?Thompson Law2020-01-23T12:12:12-06:00
The largest factor affecting your claim’s value is the severity or magnitude of your injuries. More severe injuries typically require more medical treatment. So it is essential to have all your injuries documented properly by seeking immediate treatment with doctors or hospitals, and continuing under the care and direction of your doctors as long as necessary to heal. Without prompt and consistent medical treatment and documentation, an injury claim becomes very difficult to pursue, let alone win.
Of course, other factors an also have an impact, and each and every case is different. Were you injured in a commercial vehicle wreck or truck wreck that totaled your car, or was it a fender bender that did very little damage? Was the other driver intoxicated or drunk, or speeding? A multitude of factors may play into your claim’s overall likely value. An experienced personal injury lawyer will be able to visit with you and talk to you more specifically about factors which may affect your particular claim.
Who Should I Call Immediately After Leaving the Scene of an Accident?Kirk2018-11-18T21:52:31-06:00
Call an attorney. Your first instinct might be to call your insurance company, but it’s best to seek legal council first so you don’t accidentally admit guilt or take responsibility for the accident. In many cases your attorney will call the insurance company for you to prevent that from happening.
Should I Conduct My Own Investigation?Kirk2018-11-18T21:53:20-06:00
The real question here is how soonshould you contact a personal injury attorney, and the answer is as soon as possible! In Texas, you generally have two (2) years to file a personal injury claim before it is barred by the statute of limitations. However, other states may have different time limits, and you may not always be able to tell on your own which state’s limitations apply to your case! The safest course of action for anybody injured in a car wreck, truck wreck, slip and fall, or any other type of case, is to immediately consult with a personal injury attorney in your area.
This will help you make sure that your claim will not miss the applicable limitations period. But second, and just as importantly, it will make sure that the right investigations are conducted and the right steps are taken to preserve the evidence, photos, witness statements, and records needed to successfully pursue your claim in court, should that become necessary.
What Happens If the Other Driver Does Not Have Insurance?Thompson Law2020-01-23T12:25:11-06:00
If you are injured in a hit-and-run wreck (and are unable to locate the driver) or are hurt in a collision where the other driver does not have insurance, you are not necessarily out of options in terms of financial recovery. You may still be able to recover for your personal injuries if your own policy has Uninsured Motorist (UM) coverage or Personal Injury Protection (PIP). It’s a good idea to contact your insurance company to confirm what types of coverage you have on your policy before an accident, but if you have been hit be sure to ask these questions before finalizing your claim request. Even if you do not have UM or PIP, the attorneys and investigators at Thompson Law can work to track down the other driver in a hit-and-run accident. To do this, we rely on witnesses who may have captured a photo of the car or license plate and/or available surveillance camera footage that might have captured the wreck.
What Damages Can I Recover?Kirk2020-01-23T12:26:33-06:00
If you are injured in an accident, the robust team of attorneys, paralegals and investigators at Thompson Law is ready to fight to help you get the money you deserve. Damages can include doctor and hospital bills, lost wages, property damage, and can include pain and suffering and even punitive damages in certain cases.
What Is Uninsured Motorist (UM) Coverage?Thompson Law2020-01-23T12:27:41-06:00
Uninsured Motorist (UM) Coverage can help save the day if you are hit by an uninsured driver or if you are the victim in a hit-and-run collision. In short, UM coverage is an add-on coverage that drivers can add to their auto insurance policies that will protect them in the event that they are in an auto accident with a driver who either does not have insurance or cannot be located. You can contact your insurance provider to confirm whether your policy includes UM. If you do not have this coverage, the personal injury attorneys at Thompson Law recommend that you consider adding UM to your auto insurance policy today.
What is Comparative Negligence?Thompson Law2018-10-18T11:20:51-05:00
Knowing how comparative negligence works is vital if you live in a state that uses it. In simple terms, comparative negligence implies both drivers can share fault for an accident, but one driver can be more at fault than the other. For example, you are texting while driving when another driver runs a stop sign and hits your car.
A jury finds that the driver who ran the stop sign is 80 percent at fault, but they believe you would have had a better chance of avoiding the accident if you were not texting at the time. They find you 20 percent at fault. You can only collect enough compensation to cover the other driver’s fault. In this case, you would get $8,000 if the jury thinks your case is worth $10,000.
What Happens When the Police Arrive on the Scene?Kirk2020-01-23T11:55:38-06:00
Having the police respond to the accident scene is of paramount importance. Make sure that YOU call them and insist that they come and investigate the accident. When the police arrive, they will separate the drivers and witnesses from one another and take statements from everyone involved. Be cooperative, detailed, and firm in describing the accident. The investigating officer will usually determine fault based upon these statements, and it is essential that your version of the events is heard and believed. If you think that you may be injured, make that clear to the officer. If an ambulance or other medical professionals arrive on scene, get checked out. If not, make plans to visit an emergency room or doctor soon after you leave the scene. Before you do leave for this care, the officer will provide you with a report number and their contact information. Make sure this information is safely saved, as it will be very important in any auto accident injury claim you may have.
The Insurance Company Says My Car Is Totaled. Now What?Kirk2020-01-23T11:58:20-06:00
In insurance terms, “totaled” or a “total loss” means that the cost to repair your vehicle to its pre-accident condition is more than the vehicle is worth. Each insurance company has a different threshold for determining if a vehicle is totaled, but generally, if it’s close, you want the insurance company to “total” your car. Following the determination that your car is a total loss, the insurance company will provide you with their assessment of the value of your car. An experienced auto accident attorney should review this estimate to make sure that you are truly receiving fair market value for your loss. You absolutely have the right to challenge their assessment, and a skilled attorney knows the best way to do so to maximize your recovery.
A Family Member Was Injured in an Accident. Can I File a Lawsuit?Kirk2020-01-23T12:45:15-06:00
Typically, yes. If a family member is seriously injured or killed in an accident, or if the injured party is a minor child, then it may be appropriate under the law for a parent, spouse, relative, or legal guardian to file a claim or lawsuit on behalf of the injured or deceased party. These types of claims are complex, and usually depend on the type of relationship involved, as well as the individual facts and circumstances of the injury. Calling the experienced personal injury attorneys at Thompson Law is step one to explore filing a legal claim on behalf of your loved one.
If I’m Partly to Blame for the Accident, Can I Still File a Case?Kirk2020-01-23T12:37:55-06:00
Even if you are partially to blame for a car accident, you may be able to recover some of your damages from the other party. Under Texas’s proportionate responsibility system (also known as comparative negligence), unless you as the claimant/plaintiff are determined more than 51% at fault, you may recover legal damages that are reduced by the percentage you are determined at fault. For example, if you are determined to be 30% at fault, you can recover 70% of your damages from the other responsible party (you can’t recover the other 30% because that was the amount of liability that was determined to lie with you). The personal injury attorneys at Thompson Law can help you navigate this proportionate responsibility system – so reach out online or call anytime for a free consultation.
Can I afford to hire a great attorney?cbraun2020-01-23T12:54:16-06:00
If you or a family member are injured in an automobile accident, you cannot afford NOT to hire the very best attorney available. Thompson Law works on a contingency fee basis. What this means is that you only pay legal fees IF we win for you and AFTER your case is settled. We understand that legal fees upfront are simply too much to deal with after a serious accident where you are dealing with property damage repairs, medical bills, missed work and lost wages. The fact that you owe $0 upfront is an added bonus when you hire great legal representation at Thompson Law.
How do I know you will take my case?cbraun2020-01-23T12:56:15-06:00
If you were injured as the result of someone else’s negligence, there is a good chance we can help you out. We will look at the facts of your accident, whether a car wreck, truck wreck, motorcycle accident, or on-the-job-injury and examine whatever reports or records are available.If we believe that you were injured and it was someone else’s fault, it is likely to be a case we can take. The more information and documentation you can give us about your accident and your injuries, the quicker we can evaluate your case and let you know. Give us a call or reach out online anytime!
I had a slip & fall accident. Do I need to hire a lawyer?cbraun2020-01-23T12:58:38-06:00
Absolutely. Premises liability cases, sometimes called “slip and fall” accidents, can be difficult to prove and require prompt action to preserve the evidence and witness statements you will need to pursue a claim. Additionally, Texas law on premises liability has become extremely difficult to navigate and unfavorable for injured parties. Your chances of receiving fair and just compensation for your injuries from a slip and fall increase significantly with a tenacious personal injury lawyer on your side.
How do I know you are the right personal injury attorney for my case?cbraun2020-01-23T12:59:54-06:00
The right personal injury attorney has three major characteristics: Excellent customer service, cutting edge technology, and a willingness to take cases and win at trial. Ask your potential attorney about the client experience they offer, what kind of technology they use to make your life easier, and when was the last time they took a case to jury trial. Asking these types of questions will give you guidance on what kind of experience you can expect as a client and what kind of results you can expect at the end of your case. Thompson Law, LLP has high ratings from clients for its emphasis on customer service, and its attorneys have achieved significant results on small, large, and complex cases alike. No matter if you have been involved in a minor car wreck or are dealing with catastrophic injuries from a rarer and more devastating event like a terrible workplace accident, dog bite, or an 18 wheeler wreck, Thompson Law Injury Lawyers can assist you.
Can I have a free consultation about my case?cbraun2020-01-23T13:00:51-06:00
Yes! Thompson Law is available24 hours a day, 7 days a weekto provide free consultations. If you have been injured in a truck wreck or car accident, hurt in a slip and fall incident, or otherwise injured from the negligence of another person or party, give us a call any time at 1-800-LION-LAW. We can speak to you over the phone, chat online through our website or social media outlets, or arrange an in-person meeting at your convenience. Our team is ready to help!
I’m in the hospital or unable to travel. How do I meet with a lawyer?cbraun2020-01-23T13:01:23-06:00
Thompson Law is available 24/7 to provide free consultations and to sign up new clients. We can sign you up over the phone or we can send one of our experienced licensed investigators to meet you at the hospital or at your home if you prefer. Whether you live in Arlington, Ft. Worth, El Paso, McAllen, or even outside of the state of Texas, we are always here to assist you and provide the resources you need at a difficult time. We do the hard work for you so that you can focus on healing from your injuries.
I was just in an accident. What do I need to do first?cbraun2020-01-23T15:44:56-06:00
Being in a wreck, especially on the highway, can be a terrifying experience. Remember these 6 steps to make sure you are safe and to help preserve your legal case right from the start:
GET SAFE. Stop your vehicle/move it to a safe place if you are able. Stay close to the scene without obstructing traffic. Activate your emergency flashing lights to prevent other cars from striking you.
CALL 9-1-1. If you are seriously injured, be sure you request an ambulance when you call. A police report may become critical evidence in determining liability in your case. The police will respond to wrecks involving injuries but may not send a unit for cases involving property damage only.
TAKE PHOTOS. If you are able to safely do so, take photos of your vehicle, the other vehicle (including the license plate), and the surrounding scene of the accident. You will also want to photograph the other driver’s license and insurance card.
GATHER INFO. After making sure you and passengers are okay, exchange contact information and insurance information with the other driver.
FIND WITNESSES. If there are witnesses to the accident, take down their names and contact information. Their statements may help resolve any liability disputes.
CALL THOMPSON LAW. The experienced team of attorneys, investigators and paralegals are ready to assist you right away. You can even call us to meet you at the scene of an accident.
I was a passenger in an accident. Can I still claim damages?cbraun2020-01-23T13:01:51-06:00
Yes! Passengers in auto accidents are entitled to make claims for their damages and injuries too. As a negligence-free passenger, who you make a claim against (one or both drivers and their insurance companies), and what coverages are available (third-party liability, first-party coverages, and/or personal injury protection), depends on the specific facts and circumstances of the car wreck. Injured passengers should call the personal injury attorneys at Thompson Law to assist in navigating these complex issues so that they may receive the fair compensation they deserve.
I was hit by a car while riding my bike. What do I need to do?cbraun2020-01-23T13:02:15-06:00
Bike accidents unfortunately occur more and more often and can cause serious and severe injuries to the cyclist.
First, stay at the scene. As soon as it is safe, assess the situation and call 9-1-1 to report the incident.
Second, when help arrives, receive emergency medical attention. Get “checked out” even if you think you are okay—the trauma and shock of the collision can cause your body to block out pain and injury. Follow the medical advice of the emergency response team.
Third, with assistance from the police, exchange and obtain information, such as insurance information as well as the names, addresses, and phone numbers of all witnesses, passengers, and drivers. DO NOT discuss the facts and circumstances of the bike accident with anyone other than the investigating officer.
Fourth, document the scene. Make notes on paper or using your cell phone about the time of day; weather conditions; road or traffic conditions; lighting; location of the vehicles and involved parties; and any relevant road signs, traffic control devices (lights, stop signs, yield signs) etc. Also, make sure to get photographs of your bike, the driver’s car, and the scene.
Last, call Thompson Law Injury Lawyers today. The experienced personal injury attorneys at Thompson Law will help you investigate all applicable insurance coverages and fight to get the compensation to which you are entitled.
After an accident, how do my medical expenses and other damages get paid?cbraun2020-01-23T13:02:50-06:00
An insurance company will not pay medical expenses or other damages as they come due; rather, after they have accepted liability, the insurance company will make a one-time, lump-sum final payment only at the end of your case. Dealing with medical expenses, and obtaining the proper medical care, after an accident can be tricky. But it does not have to be! Call the personal injury attorneys at Thompson Law, who can explain how to deal with the “day-of” hospital bills, how to continue to receive the care you need, and ultimately how to recover an appropriate settlement that takes care of your bills from the incident as well as fair and just compensation for you.
How long is the case process?cbraun2020-01-23T13:03:34-06:00
Let’s be honest: this isn’t a legal show on TV and your case will not settle in the next hour – or even tomorrow. The true answer is: it depends. We find that most cases settle within 7-10 months from date of incident; but the timeframe in your case could be shorter or longer depending on: the facts and circumstances of the accident; the length of time it takes you to complete medical treatment; and the character of the insurance company, or companies, involved in your case. In the event that your case cannot settle pre-litigation and it becomes necessary to file a lawsuit, that process alone can take 1 to 2 years due to the court system and legal process necessary to prepare for trial. But because so much of the timeline depends on the facts and circumstances of your unique case, call Thompson Law today to discuss.
Why you need an Accident Attorney
Mesquite has experienced many positive changes in recent years due to economic growth of the area, the arrival of new corporation headquarters, and the revitalization of sports and entertainment venues throughout the area. However, with this growth has come very serious consequences to the city’s roadways. Necessary infrastructure improvement has resulted in the constant outcropping ofnew construction sites. Constantly rerouted lanes, poor surface maintenance, and confusing temporary signage result in dangerous driving conditions for drivers who have their attention divided by these chaotic conditions.
When you are involved in an accident, having an expert attorney analyze your case can make all the difference for the optimal settlement. Experienced auto accident attorneys can spot important details that many overlook or downplay – including damage to property, personal injury, liability of those involved, and any other extenuating circumstances. The large companies, insurance agencies, and government bodies all have legal professionals representing and protecting their interests following a catastrophic incident, and you should too. If you have been hurt in a car accident, be sure your interests are well represented and well protected. Thompson Law at 844-308-8180 is ready 24/7 to take your call.
If injuries at the crash scene are severe, always be sure to involve the emergency authorities. Calling 911 for police, ambulance, or fire response is critical to saving lives and preventing further injury in these cases.
After these emergency responders have arrived, carefully comply with their instructions. When it is safe to do so, and as much as possible, before departing the scene of the accident use the following list to gather important information about the event. This list will also be invaluable to your Thompson Law attorney, so do share the information with your legal specialists when you call Lion Law at 844-308-8180.
Personal ID’s – owner, drivers, passengers, witnesses
Photograph – take pictures of the vehicles involved, the accident site and the damage
Police – for emergencies call 911, for Mesquite Police call (972) 285-6336, and help the dispatcher help you by carefully following his or her instructions. When emergency personnel arrive, cooperate fully with their instructions as they generate an accident report.
Proceed – Take care departing the scene! Follow the instructions provided to you by emergency professionals. Gather the police report information when available. Call Lion Law 844-308-8180 for legal assistance and representation.
Protect – Protect your rights and interests by calling Thompson Law 844-308-8180 as soon as you are able following the accident.
Sharing this accurate information with your Thompson Law advisors can make a critical impact on the outcome of your case!
Injury & Treatment
Thompson Law’s skillful and compassionate team of attorneys and specialists will guide you every step of the way with managing your claim, your case, and other post-accident considerations, while your health care providers guide your recovery. Following the advice from both sides of this process is absolutely critical to achieving successful results. The best outcome we wish for all our clients is full recovery and rightful compensation. Automobile accident cases we handle can result in many types of injury with very different degrees of severity. The following is a partial list:
Recovery after a traumatic accident may involve seriousmedical intervention like surgery, medication, physical therapy, and bed rest, but people sometimes overlook the mental and emotional healing required after this type of event. The stress following an auto accident can often be more serious than you realize. The funds you receive at settlement can help cover more than just base expenses, including compensation for intangibles such as:
Along with recovery, you deserve justice and closure after suffering a serious accident. With Ryan “The Lion” Thompson and his team fighting for you, you will not confront the big insurance companies alone. The deep understanding of these traumatic events and their many consequences is what sets Lion Law apart, and inspires your Thompson team to battle for the compensation you deserve.
Your Partnership with Lion Law
When you choose Ryan “The Lion” Thompson, unless and until you get compensated, you pay ZERO attorney or legal fees. Thompson Law’s extensive legal experience, compassionate approach, and dedication to winning every case has netted not just millions, but over$1.8 billion in settlements to our clients. If you or a loved one have been injured in an automobile accident, reach out to Lion Law today for a free consultation about your case. We look forward to helping you today.
If you’ve been hurt in a car accident, the time to call Lion Law is now. State law limits the time that you can file a claim following a road traffic accident. Your injury and compensation deserve attention right away. Call Thompson Law: 844-308-8180
Mesquite Auto Collision Attorney – Free Consultations Start HERE
Contact us for a
Principal Office Address: 3300 Oak Lawn Ave. Third Floor Dallas, TX 75219