Were You Injured by a Medical Device?

The medical industry has come a long way over the last few decades. There are medical devices approved by the FDA that are meant to make the lives of people with illnesses and diseases easier. Sometimes, though, a medical device designed to help does the unthinkable and causes injuries or death. When this happens, victims or their families may be eligible to file a product liability claim. If you or someone you love was injured by a medical device, read the rest of this article and then contact Thompson Law right away at 844-308-8180. We’re available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

What You Must Prove in a Texas Defective Medical Device Claim

Defective device claims fall under a city area of law known as product liability. Product liability is primarily centered around a legal concept referred to as negligence. When someone is hurt by a defective medical device, they can be left with devastating injuries including permanent scarring, nerve damage, and deadly infections. There are three specific items that a plaintiff must prove to have a successful defective medical device claim in Texas:

  1. That the defective medical device caused your injury. This is usually the easiest to prove.
  2. The medical device had a defective design, was defective because of manufacturing, or was marketed in a way that misled you in what the device should be used for.
  3. The defect or improper marketing led to your injury. To be successful, you must be able to show that the defect or the way the device was marketed ultimately led to your injury.

medical device injury lawyer

What about Class Action Lawsuits?

If you watch television, you’re probably no stranger to the ads that mention various medical devices and how there are class action lawsuits pending. While a class action lawsuit may help many people resolve their case, not all people who are hurt by medical devices qualify to join a class-action lawsuit. Sometimes, those who join class-action lawsuits do not get the compensation they deserve.

If you’ve found a class-action lawsuit regarding the medical device that caused your injury, first take the time to talk with a Texas personal injury attorney to make sure that you meet the qualifications and that joining the class action would be in your best interest.

Texas Statute of Limitations

If you or someone you love was hurt because of a defective medical device, contact Thompson Law right away. In Texas, you only have a certain amount of time after the injury to bring a claim. That amount of time is known as the statute of limitations. The time period in Texas is two years from the date that the injury occurs.

The Importance of Choosing the Right Attorney

Product liability is a form of personal injury, but these claims are quite different. It’s important that you choose a lawyer who is experienced in product liability; specifically, defective medical devices. These claims can be incredibly complex. Companies that manufacture medical devices often have powerful lawyers who will do everything they can to discredit your story.

No Win No Fee for Personal Injury Case

That’s why you need Thompson Law and THE FOURS on your side in Dallas at 214-444-4444, Fort Worth at 817-444-4444, North Texas at 972-444-4444, or the DFW Mid-Cities at 469-444-4444. We are zealous legal advocates with product liability experience. Our goal is to help people who are injured protect their legal rights and get the compensation that they deserve.

Don’t wait. Call Thompson Law now at 844-308-8180 for a FREE CONSULTATION.

Recent Post

Photo of car accident on road. How to Determine Who is at Fault in a Texas Car Accident

What to Do After A Car Accident in Texas

After a car accident, it is essential to remain composed and follow certain steps to safeguard your rights. These steps will not only ensure your safety but also help you

Read More

Mallet

How Does the Personal Injury Claims Process Work?

Suppose you or a loved one have been injured by some else’s negligence in an accident like a motor vehicle crash, workplace accident, or slip and fall. You might decide

Read More

Car Wreck Lawyer

When To Get A Car Wreck Lawyer

Following a car accident, you may be asking yourself, “When do I need a car wreck lawyer?” The answer: It is always worth contacting a car accident attorney. Start by

Read More

Personal Injury Claims

How Long Does a Personal Injury Lawsuit Take in Texas?

The first question that many new clients ask when they are beginning the process of hiring a personal injury claims lawyer is, “how long is my personal injury case going

Read More

Happy Kids in car

The Age Kids Can Sit in the Front Seat of a Car by State

Children in Texas must be at least 8 years old to sit in the front seat of a car BUT the laws vary by state with most not having any

Read More

Two little boys sitting on a car seat and a booster seat buckled up in the car.

When Can My Child Stop Using a Booster Seat in Texas?

In Texas, the law requires children to remain in a booster seat until they reach the age of 8 years or 4 feet 9 inches in height. It is essential

Read More

Three young kids in the car backseat

Child Passenger Safety Laws by State

Across the United States, child passenger safety laws regarding the four types of child restraints — rear-facing car seats, forward-facing car seats, booster seats, and seat belts — vary significantly

Read More

Thompson Law Guarantee

Thompson Law receives an attorney fee and you pay no legal fees as our client unless we pay you. Thompson Law has 350 years of combined experience in legal representation and has won over $1.8 billion dollars in cash settlements for our clients. We master the art of managing client cases with empathy, compassion, respect and, of course, prodigious skill. Contact us today for a free, risk-free consultation to discuss your accident and your options.

State law limits the time you have to file a claim after an auto accident. If you have been injured in an accident, call now to get the help you need.