If you’ve found your way to this page, we feel for you. Finding yourself in a position where you’re seeking a police report, means that you or someone you love has recently experienced some misfortune and frustration.
Police Reports, also referred to as Accident Reports or Crash Reports, are one of the most valuable documents you can have in auto accident cases. These authoritative documents carry weight in insurance negotiations by effectively and consistently describing events and providing evidence from an agreed-upon authoritative and objective source. As soon as it is safe to do so after the accident, you should call the police to come out to the scene of the accident and make a report.
If the crash is severe and there are injuries, call emergency line 911. If the crash is minor and injuries are unknown, you can call the local police department’s non-emergency number to request that an officer come out. From there, all you need to do is check your options and the steps below to receive a copy of your report. Share that report with your dedicated auto accident attorney and you are well on your way to a strong and successful personal injury case.
In Texas, accident reports are officially referred to as Texas Peace Officer’s Crash Reports. Alternately, you may hear them referred to by their technical name, CR-3. Variations in form names and differences in requesting forms between various jurisdictions can be confusing, but this guide is designed to help simplify the options.
Different jurisdictions have different protocols for requesting your crash report. For example, some precincts do not directly manage crash reports online or even provide online avenues for searching crash reports. If you’ve been in a car accident in San Antonio, for example, you can see the options available to you on the City of San Antonio’s website. Luckily, TXDOT maintains a database of all reports for the state of Texas, which increases access to reports for many more Texans. If you’re wondering, “How Do I Get a Police Report?” – here are your options:
To get started locating your crash report, start here. Once you’ve received your report, the CR-3 reference sheet is located here, to help you decipher the report details.
Different cities have slight variations in protocol when it comes to crash reports. Below is a list of links and resources for locating your crash report in different jurisdictions. If you don’t see the city where your crash occurred, or you have other questions, you can visit the TXDOT Crash Reporting Page for the state-managed crash reporting system – C.R.I.S. Purchase.
TXDOT is the custodian of crash reports for the state of Texas, and it is one of the most convenient and accessible options to obtain your record, though there is a $6.00 fee per download. Besides TXDOT, Lexis Nexis is an online platform used by many police departments. If your crash occurred in a jurisdiction that uses Lexis Nexis, you can download your report using the same accident search criteria as TXDOT, typically for a fee of $8.00.
And of course, if you are having trouble locating or receiving your report, you can always call Thompson Law.
Thompson Law’s experienced personal injury attorneys are dedicated to winning your claim and case. Even with over $1.8 billion won for our clients to date, each new client we take on receives the same great care, attention, and help that they deserve. Our promise to you is not only our very best legal expertise to help you win a great insurance settlement or case verdict, but also a 5-star client experience throughout that process.
If you have been injured or suffered losses in a car or truck accident, workplace accident, premises liability accident, or through some other negligent act by the fault of another’s actions, you deserve help and you deserve justice. Reach out to Thompson Law for a free, no-risk consultation at your convenience. 24/7/365, we are available to offer you our services and guidance. A 15-minute phone call could make all the difference in your case.
If you found this article helpful, you may also like:
The State of Texas has a statute of limitations of two (2) years for personal injury cases, so if you have suffered after being hurt in an auto accident or any other type of accident, consult with an experienced personal injury attorney. The sooner you know your options, the sooner you are on the path to recovery and your deserved compensation. However, delayed onset injuries are no less deserving of justice. If you’ve been hesitating to reach out, don’t delay any further. Call Thompson Law right away for assistance with your injury and claim.
Thompson Law receives an attorney fee and you pay no legal fees as our client unless we pay you. Thompson Law has 350 years of combined experience in legal representation and has won over $1.8 billion dollars in cash settlements for our clients. We master the art of managing client cases with empathy, compassion, respect and, of course, prodigious skill. Contact us today for a free, risk-free consultation to discuss your accident and your options.
State law limits the time you have to file a claim after an auto accident. If you have been injured in an accident, call now to get the help you need.