Auto Accident Safety Tips

5 Important Auto Accident Safety Tips

Some accidents are unavoidable but the following statistics show how important it is to do everything possible to stay safe on the roadways of the Lone Star State. In Texas, based on reportable crashes in 2021:

  • 1 person was killed every 1 hour 57 minutes
  • 1 person was injured every 2 minutes 12 seconds
  • 1 reportable crash occurred every 57 seconds

To protect yourself and your passengers, here are some sobering trends reported by the National Highway Traffic and Safety Administration (NHTSA). Follow these 5 auto accident safety tips to increase your chances of arriving alive.

1. Don’t Drive Drunk

Alcohol impairment kills 29 people in the U.S. every single day. That’s one person who dies every 50 minutes. Fortunately, fatalities from drunk-driving are declining and have dropped by a third in the last 30 years. However, it continues to take 10,000 lives annually and cause billions of dollars in damage. The best thing you can do to avoid becoming a statistic is staying sober, stay alert, and stay alive.

2. Don’t Drive Distracted

Most of us have been guilty of taking our eyes off the road to read a text, take a sip of coffee or brush on makeup. It seems like a great way to multitask on long commutes in backed up traffic. The truth is, every time you divide your attention, you risk an accident. Distracted driving is extremely deadly and claimed 3,450 lives in 2016. Pull over to answer a text or turn off your phone when you’re on the road. Avoid eating, applying makeup and other activities that take your attention away from the road and put yourself and others at risk.

3. Follow the Speed Limit

If you feel the need for speed, ignore the urge and live longer. Speeding is a top killer in auto accidents. In 2016, speeding claimed 10,111 lives and was behind 27 percent of all traffic fatalities. The modern world is moving faster all the time, resulting in complicated lives with overextended schedules. Nonetheless, speeding up on the highway isn’t the smart way to save time. It’s more important to arrive alive than to practice your Grand Prix skills on a busy highway. Take a breath, relax and leave a little earlier so you have plenty of time to get where you’re going.

4. Wear Your Seat Belt

You can’t control many of the factors leading up to an accident. However, like paying attention and staying sober, wearing a seat belt is a conscious decision that greatly increases your chances of survival in the event of a major crash. In 2016, seat belts saved about 15,000 lives. Many people understand the concept of how seat belts minimize injury in the event of an accident and about 90 percent of drivers and passengers use them. That leaves 27.5 million people that don’t buckle up. This is an easy fix that’s proven to save lives, and it’s the law in Texas, so click it or get a ticket.

5. Don’t Drive Drowsy

Drowsy driving killed nearly 800 Americans in 2017. This is tragic since it’s 100 percent avoidable. Whether you have a new baby at home or work an extra drive, there’s simply no excuse to get behind the wheel if you’re too tired to function properly. Become part of the solution and get some sleep for the next midnight run for burgers, groceries or diapers.

Injured In An Auto Accident?

The annual vehicle miles driven in Texas in 2017 reached nearly 275 billion, up 1.22 percent over the prior year. With the increased mileage come increased risks, and a need to follow these auto accident safety tips.

If you’re doing everything you can to follow these auto accident safety tips on the roadways and are the victim of a careless driver, contact Thompson Law at  866-293-4768 today to find out how to protect your rights and recover the damages you deserve.

Recent Post

Photo of car accident on road. How to Determine Who is at Fault in a Texas Car Accident

What to Do After A Car Accident in Texas

After a car accident, it is essential to remain composed and follow certain steps to safeguard your rights. These steps will not only ensure your safety but also help you

Read More

Mallet

How Does the Personal Injury Claims Process Work?

Suppose you or a loved one have been injured by some else’s negligence in an accident like a motor vehicle crash, workplace accident, or slip and fall. You might decide

Read More

Car Wreck Lawyer

When To Get A Car Wreck Lawyer

Following a car accident, you may be asking yourself, “When do I need a car wreck lawyer?” The answer: It is always worth contacting a car accident attorney. Start by

Read More

Personal Injury Claims

How Long Does a Personal Injury Lawsuit Take in Texas?

The first question that many new clients ask when they are beginning the process of hiring a personal injury claims lawyer is, “how long is my personal injury case going

Read More

Happy Kids in car

The Age Kids Can Sit in the Front Seat of a Car by State

Children in Texas must be at least 8 years old to sit in the front seat of a car BUT the laws vary by state with most not having any

Read More

Two little boys sitting on a car seat and a booster seat buckled up in the car.

When Can My Child Stop Using a Booster Seat in Texas?

In Texas, the law requires children to remain in a booster seat until they reach the age of 8 years or 4 feet 9 inches in height. It is essential

Read More

Three young kids in the car backseat

Child Passenger Safety Laws by State

Across the United States, child passenger safety laws regarding the four types of child restraints — rear-facing car seats, forward-facing car seats, booster seats, and seat belts — vary significantly

Read More

Thompson Law Guarantee

Thompson Law receives an attorney fee and you pay no legal fees as our client unless we pay you. Thompson Law has 350 years of combined experience in legal representation and has won over $1.8 billion dollars in cash settlements for our clients. We master the art of managing client cases with empathy, compassion, respect and, of course, prodigious skill. Contact us today for a free, risk-free consultation to discuss your accident and your options.

State law limits the time you have to file a claim after an auto accident. If you have been injured in an accident, call now to get the help you need.