What Age Can a Child Ride on the Back of a Motorcycle in Texas?

Riding a motorcycle can be fun, exciting, and exhilarating. As a bonus, it can save time and money. The downside of motorcycle riding is the high risk of sustaining serious injuries in case of an accident, much more so with kids on a motorcycle. Motorcyclists account for 14% of all traffic fatalities.

The safety concern makes it important to understand when it’s safe for kids to become motorcycle passengers. Each state has its own laws regarding motorcycle riding for children. No matter what the law says about age requirements for children riding pillion (back seat of the motorcycle), safety should be the driver’s top concern at all times.

If you or your child sustain injuries during a motorcycle accident, you may be entitled to compensation. Make sure to contact a motor accident lawyer as soon as possible to learn how to proceed.

When Can Your Child Start Riding on Your Motorcycle?

In Texas, children 5 years and older can ride on the back of a motorcycle. According to Texas Transportation Code Section 545.416(d), “an operator may not carry another person on a motorcycle or moped unless the other person is at least five years of age. An offense under this subsection is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not less than $100 or more than $200.”

Other Laws Related to Children on Motorcycles in Texas

  • Malorie’s Law — the motorcycle carrying two people (regardless of their age), must be equipped with foot and handholds for the motorcycle passenger.
  • Helmet law — all passengers over the age of 5 and under the age of 21 must wear helmets when riding a motorcycle.
  • Passenger seat law– to carry a passenger, the motorcycle must be equipped with a permanent passenger seat. It’s also allowed to carry a child in a side-seat. However, putting passengers of any age in front of the driver is prohibited.

Ensuring Your Child Knows How to Ride Safely on the Back of a Motorcycle

While the law allows you to carry a child over five years of age on a motorcycle, you should consider the following issues:

  • Can the child reach the foot pegs?
  • Does the child understand the importance of using handholds?
  • Is the child strong enough to keep himself or herself in place during sharp maneuvers?

In Texas, the law won’t punish you for carrying a child over 5 years old on a motorcycle if you follow all the necessary rules and requirements. However, it’s up to the driver to assess the situation and make the decision in favor or against putting a child on a motorcycle.

If a motorcycle accident occurs while a child is riding as a passenger, call your motorcycle accident lawyer immediately. By accessing proper legal assistance timely, you can receive maximum compensation.

Legal Age for a Child to Ride on the Back of a Motorcycle

Making it Safe for Kids on a Motorcycle

While you follow the laws related to children riding pillion on motorcycles, it’s important to remember a few extra safety tips:

  • Perfectly fitted helmet — choose a high-quality and well-fitting motorcycle helmet for the child. Since children grow quickly, a helmet you purchased last season may be too small to keep a kid’s head safe during a collision.
  • Safety gear and protective clothing — besides knee guards and motorcycle gloves, kids should wear a durable jacket (e.g. leather) and heavy pants (e.g. jeans). They can protect the child from abrasions and the wind.
  • Motorcycle safety belt — a safety belt or harness can keep the child safely attached to the driver. It’s an excellent option for smaller kids, whose hands aren’t big and strong enough to hold on to the handholds or the driver. Additionally, it can protect a child when they fall asleep during a long ride.
  • Safety skills — before putting a child on a motorcycle, it’s imperative to teach them basic safety skills, including the art of holding on to the handholds and the importance of not creating a distraction.
  • Practice — before going to a busy street, practice driving around with a child in low-traffic areas.
  • Defensive driving — when you have a child riding pillion, make sure to drive defensively. Always assume that drivers of other vehicles can’t see you. While this could take some thrill out of the ride, such driving can maximize your child’s safety.
  • Warnings — warn the child about the upcoming road surface defects, sharp turns, and plans for acceleration.

If you take all the necessary safety precautions, you can minimize the number of injuries during an accident.

Common Injuries Sustained by Children in Motorcycle Accidents

  • Friction burns
  • TBI (Traumatic Brain Injury)
  • Bruised and/or cracked ribs
  • Internal organ damage
  • Spinal cord injuries
  • Broken kneecaps and ankles
  • Road rash

If you and your child get into a motorcycle accident, contact your motorcycle accident lawyer as soon as you have the chance. You could be entitled to compensation even if it seems that the accident is your fault.

What Should You Do If You Get Into a Motorcycle Accident with a Child?

In 2019, 412 motorcyclists were killed in Texas and 1,800 received serious injuries. The majority (60%) of motorcycle crashes occur between May and October. If you were involved in an accident with one of your kids on a motorcycle, don’t panic. Follow these steps to minimize damage:

  • Stay calm and take deep breaths. Try not to get angry.
  • Check your child and yourself for injuries.
  • In case any of the people involved in the crash are injured, call 911 immediately.
  • Call your motorcycle accident attorney to get further advice.
  • Try to preserve the scene of the accident (don’t move your bike).
  • If possible, take as many photos of the accident scene and bike damage as you can.

Motorcyclists involved in accidents involving kids on a motorcycle often panic after a crash. To make sure you don’t make any costly mistakes after getting into a crash, call your motor accident lawyer as soon as possible.

Our Texas Motorcycle Accident Lawyers are Here to Help

While you are doing everything in your power to make it safe for kids on a motorcycle, accidents can happen. If you and your child get into a motorcycle crash, we are only one click away.

Our team of experienced motor accident attorneys can take over your case and help you get due compensation for financial and health-related damages. Call us for a FREE CASE EVALUATION to discuss an accident involving kids on a motorcycle.

No Win No Fee sign - Texas motorcycle accident lawyer for injuries involving kids on a motorcycle

Recent Post

Photo of car accident on road. How to Determine Who is at Fault in a Texas Car Accident

What to Do After A Car Accident in Texas

After a car accident, it is essential to remain composed and follow certain steps to safeguard your rights. These steps will not only ensure your safety but also help you

Read More

Mallet

How Does the Personal Injury Claims Process Work?

Suppose you or a loved one have been injured by some else’s negligence in an accident like a motor vehicle crash, workplace accident, or slip and fall. You might decide

Read More

Car Wreck Lawyer

When To Get A Car Wreck Lawyer

Following a car accident, you may be asking yourself, “When do I need a car wreck lawyer?” The answer: It is always worth contacting a car accident attorney. Start by

Read More

Personal Injury Claims

How Long Does a Personal Injury Lawsuit Take in Texas?

The first question that many new clients ask when they are beginning the process of hiring a personal injury claims lawyer is, “how long is my personal injury case going

Read More

Happy Kids in car

The Age Kids Can Sit in the Front Seat of a Car by State

Children in Texas must be at least 8 years old to sit in the front seat of a car BUT the laws vary by state with most not having any

Read More

Two little boys sitting on a car seat and a booster seat buckled up in the car.

When Can My Child Stop Using a Booster Seat in Texas?

In Texas, the law requires children to remain in a booster seat until they reach the age of 8 years or 4 feet 9 inches in height. It is essential

Read More

Three young kids in the car backseat

Child Passenger Safety Laws by State

Across the United States, child passenger safety laws regarding the four types of child restraints — rear-facing car seats, forward-facing car seats, booster seats, and seat belts — vary significantly

Read More

Thompson Law Guarantee

Thompson Law receives an attorney fee and you pay no legal fees as our client unless we pay you. Thompson Law has 350 years of combined experience in legal representation and has won over $1.8 billion dollars in cash settlements for our clients. We master the art of managing client cases with empathy, compassion, respect and, of course, prodigious skill. Contact us today for a free, risk-free consultation to discuss your accident and your options.

State law limits the time you have to file a claim after an auto accident. If you have been injured in an accident, call now to get the help you need.